Medical Standards for Driver's Licenses

This section provides the Registry of Motor Vehicles' current medical policies relating to driver's licenses.


The Medical Affairs of the Registry of Motor Vehicles has policies to help determine whether customers with certain medical conditions are eligible to obtain a Class D or Class M Driver's License, Commercial Driver's License (Classes A, B, and C), School Bus Operator's Certificate or School Pupil (7D or 7D½) Certificate. Often, advice from health care providers is required to establish if a customer meets medical standards. The Registry of Motor Vehicles considers the following licensed professionals to be health care providers, and the type of health care provider a customer should consult is determined by the customer's medical condition:




      Occupational therapist

      Physical therapist




      Nurse practitioner

      Registered nurse

      Physician assistant