Age and Date of Birth

A customer must be at least 14 years old to obtain a Massachusetts ID card.

A customer must be at least 16-years old to obtain a Massachusetts permit.  No person under 16 may drive in Massachusetts. This law applies even if a customer has a permit/license issued by a state, United States territory, or country that allows operation of a motor vehicle by a person less than 16 years of age.

 

A customer must be at least 16.5 years old to obtain a junior operator license. If the customer does not complete the driver’s education certificate requirement, he/she must wait until he/she is 18 years of age to obtain a Massachusetts driver's license.

 

A customer must be at least 18 years old to obtain a full Massachusetts driver's license. The customer will have a junior operator license restriction on his/her license until he/she turns 18 years old.

Customers who renew their Massachusetts license/ID card before their 21st birthday will receive a ‘vertical’ Massachusetts license/ID card with the text “UNDER 21 UNTIL MM/DD/YYYY.” If the Massachusetts license/ID card is manufactured after the customer’s 21st birthday where the renewal is processed before their 21st birthday, they will receive an “Under 21” Massachusetts license/ID card. This Massachusetts license/ID card will be valid for five years.  If customers do not want to be issued an “Under 21” Massachusetts license/ID card, they must renew the Massachusetts license/ID card on or after their 21st birthday.

Operators 75 years of age or older must meet the following requirements when renewing his/her license…

      Appear in-person at an RMV Service Center or AAA office, and

      Pass a vision test administered by RMV or AAA personnel OR present a completed Vision Screening Certificate that meets the RMV’s vision standards.