Out-of-State Suspensions

Each state in the United States is required to notify the other states through the National Driver Register of any traffic offenses a customer commits in that state. If a Massachusetts permit/license or right to operate is suspended or revoked due to a suspension or revocation in another state, it must be reinstated in the other state before any suspension or revocation in Massachusetts can be resolved.

 

Massachusetts state law requires the Registry of Motor Vehicles to apply Massachusetts suspension or revocation rules to out-of-state violations, even if the offense did not cause a suspension or revocation in the other state. For Massachusetts permit/license holders, these offenses will be treated as if they occurred in Massachusetts. The Registry of Motor Vehicles will review the record and determine if the offense is similar to an existing law in Massachusetts to assess a penalty or treat the offense as a civil or criminal infraction.

 

Once Massachusetts receives notification of a suspension or revocation from another state, the Registry of Motor Vehicles will send a 30 day notice of intent to suspend to the customer. The pending suspension or revocation will be effective on the date specified and will remain in effect until the out-of-state suspension has been cleared.

 

If the out-of-state suspension or revocation has been resolved, the customer must bring either a reinstatement letter or a current driving record (not more than 30 days old) from the state of suspension to any RMV Full Service Center. If the Massachusetts suspension or revocation has taken effect, the customer must pay a $100 reinstatement fee.

 

For certain offenses, the customer may be required to submit additional information and may be required to see a Hearing Officer.