Civil Offenses and Suspensions

Civil violations, such as not obeying traffic signals or speeding, are considered noncriminal and can usually be settled by paying fines.  If a customer receives a citation from a law enforcement officer for a civil motor vehicle infraction (CMVI), he/she must pay the required fine or request a hearing with a court magistrate to dispute the citation within 20 days.

All moving violations are tracked in Massachusetts by the Registry of Motor Vehicles and are recorded on a customer’s Public Driving Record and Personal Driving History.  Moving violations can affect a customer’s motor vehicle insurance rate and may cause his/her license to be suspended.

Requesting a Hearing

If a customer denies responsibility for the civil infraction(s) charged on the citation, he/she can request a civil hearing before a court magistrate.  Before a hearing can be scheduled for any offense that occurred on or after January 1, 2011, the customer must pay a $25 court filing fee to the RMV.  Once this fee is paid, the court will notify the customer by mail of the date and time of the hearing and the customer must appear in court on the scheduled date and time.

When a customer requests a hearing, he/she will receive a letter from the RMV informing him/her of the court filing fee.  To pay the court filing fee, a check or money order must be made payable to MassDOT.  The citation number, license number, and state of issuance must be written on the front of the check or money order.  The $25 court filing fee and a copy of the letter must be mailed to the address below.

CITATION PROCESSING CENTER

BOX 55890, BOSTON, MA 02205-5890

If a hearing has already been requested, the court filing fee can also be paid online at www.massrmv.com.

Note: For offenses that occurred prior to January 1, 2011, the court filing fee must be paid to the court at the time of the hearing.

Failure to Pay the Court Filing Fee

If a customer requests a hearing for an offense that occurred on or after January 1, 2011, but does not pay the court filing fee by the due date, he/she will lose the right to a hearing and default on the citation.  The customer must then pay the citation, plus any late or release fees that are due.  In addition, the customer’s license or right to operate may be suspended.

For questions or more information about a Massachusetts suspension or revocation, a customer may call the Driver Control Unit.

Paying the Citation

If a customer chooses to pay the citation and waive his/her right to a civil hearing, payment can be made one of the following ways:

      Mail: The check must be payable to MassDOT.  The citation number, license number, and state of issuance must be written on the front of the check.  The payment and the citation must be placed in the envelope provided and mailed to the address below.  The Payment Box on the front of the envelope must be checked.

CITATION PROCESSING CENTER

BOX 55890, BOSTON, MA 02205-5890

      On-line at www.massrmv.com. Citation number and credit card or checkbook is needed.

      Phone: 857-368-8000 (from the 339/617/781/857 area codes or from outside of MA) or 800-858-3926 (from all other MA area codes). Monday – Friday from 9am – 5pm.

By paying this citation, a customer waives his/her right to a civil hearing before a court magistrate and admits his/her responsibility for all infractions.  This admission may affect the customer’s auto insurance premium and Public Driving Record.  Paying the citation is not an admission of guilt, responsibility, or negligence in any other criminal or civil proceeding.

Failure to Pay the Citation

If a customer does not respond to a citation within 20 days, he/she will be found responsible and charged a substantial late payment fee.  Continued failure to pay the citation and late fee will cause his/her license to be suspended. The Public Driving Record and Personal Driving History will note that a customer has accepted responsibility for a citation whether he/she paid the citation by mail, requested a hearing and was ordered by a court to pay the fine, or failed to respond to the citation within the 20-day period.

For questions or more information about a Massachusetts suspension or revocation, a customer may call the Driver Control Unit.